PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Saeco Lubrisizer

dancingbear41
04-03-2013, 06:55 PM
Does anyone have any suggestion of how to do the lock ring holding the sizer die up tight enough on a Saeco lubrisizer without resorting to pliers? I cannot do it up tight enough by hand and always get little ribbons of lube sneaking out from the top and bottom of the die. Because it is a knurled ring I feel it should be achievable without tools, otherwise it is going to messed up in short order.

Any suggestions welcome.

Many thanks.

Simon.

Le Loup Solitaire
04-03-2013, 08:05 PM
I've been running 2 Saeco lubriszers for many years now; an old one with black crinkle finish and a newer one with green. I had the same prob with "little ribbons" coming out from the knurled ring that holds the sizing die tight. At one point I had flats on it machined so that I could use an end wrench to really tighten it up hard. That did not stop the ribboning and I didn't want to get crazy and slip or crack the ring. I finally solved the prob to a greater extent by backing off the pressure in the reservoir; it slowed down the ribboning. Another possible solution that I have not tried is to use a gasket between the ring and the body of the frame. I haven't done it because the amount of ribbon is very small, but i keep a 1/8" little screwdriver handy and occasionally gather up the ribbon and add it to a little pile/wad and when I have to add lube to the reservoir I just toss it in. A factor to look at is the type of lube being used...soft lube will ribbon easier and the room/ambient temperature--if it is warm or too warm will also enable lube to ribbon easier as well. I'm still using the old NRA 50/50 formula of beeswax and alox and that is fairly hard compared to some other lubes. The main factor I have found is the amount of pressure on/in the reservoir and I have played with it a lot, by keeping track of 1/4. 1/3, and 1/2 turns I make in relation to how many lube grooves are on the bullet design