PDA

View Full Version : +1 for Sharp Shooter USA molds

twofocused
03-26-2013, 11:28 PM
Hello everyone as you can see I'm a newbie to this site but, I have been lurking quite a bit and reading everything I can.

A few weeks ago a buddy and I rounded up every wheel weight local shops would sell us and decided to start casting. Now I've never cast so this was truly a new adventure.

I was pleasantly surprised that Sharp Shooters USA was quick and easy to deal with. They told me it would be 2 weeks and on the money it was 2 weeks.

Today I cast for the first time. Not near as hard as I thought and I turned out 11.5 pounds of .31 cal buckshot.

Thanks to everyone and I promise I'm sticking around, this is kinda addicting.

Oh those frickin molds have to be blazing hot to produce good shot. I mean WOW hot.

Thanks, Jason

220swiftfn
03-27-2013, 02:17 AM
Hello everyone as you can see I'm a newbie to this site but, I have been lurking quite a bit and reading everything I can.

A few weeks ago a buddy and I rounded up every wheel weight local shops would sell us and decided to start casting. Now I've never cast so this was truly a new adventure.

I was pleasantly surprised that Sharp Shooters USA was quick and easy to deal with. They told me it would be 2 weeks and on the money it was 2 weeks.

Today I cast for the first time. Not near as hard as I thought and I turned out 11.5 pounds of .31 cal buckshot.

Thanks to everyone and I promise I'm sticking around, this is kinda addicting.

Oh those frickin molds have to be blazing hot to produce good shot. I mean WOW hot.

Thanks, Jason

Yes, they DO need to run hot, I usually cast 5 or 6 "ingots" in the sides first to bring those molds up to temp quick. Most here replace the wood with some longer lumber for ease of use.

Dan

John in WI
03-27-2013, 06:21 PM