PDA

View Full Version : A few questions

bc3660
08-22-2007, 07:41 PM
Hi I'm new to BPCR shooting so i have a few dumb questions. I have read here that alot of people dont like Pyrodex, becouse it rusts up the gun too much. Is 777 a beter sub for BP and Pyrodex?
I have been making boolits out of typeset for printing presses. Is this "lynotype"?
If so is that too hard for a BP gun? (577 snider/enfield)
And this may be the dumbest question. But why drop your boolits in water? I just drop them onto a towel. (only loading 45 colt right now still waitin on the 577 mold) thanks for any help you can give!!
Steve

SharpsShooter
08-22-2007, 08:01 PM
Hi I'm new to BPCR shooting so i have a few dumb questions. I have read here that alot of people dont like Pyrodex, becouse it rusts up the gun too much. Is 777 a beter sub for BP and Pyrodex?
I have been making boolits out of typeset for printing presses. Is this "lynotype"?
If so is that too hard for a BP gun? (577 snider/enfield)
And this may be the dumbest question. But why drop your boolits in water? I just drop them onto a towel. (only loading 45 colt right now still waitin on the 577 mold) thanks for any help you can give!!
Steve

None of the substitutes are very good. Real Black Powder such as Goex, or Swiss is the way to go. Typeset is typically linotype and is far to hard for BP applications. You need 20:1 or softer (BNH 9 or less 30:1 or even 40:1 ) for the enfield. If loading smokeless the lino can be mixedwith pure for the 45 colt, but if loading BP you will need the softer lead /tin mix. Save the lino for high velocity applications or trade it for pure lead and tin.

BTW, questions are not dumb. They show an interest in learning the right way to so something. That is what this board is about. Welcome!
SS

jerrold
08-22-2007, 08:24 PM