PDA

View Full Version : Reloading for 30/30 Single shot

Joel Chavez
08-22-2007, 03:40 PM
I want to reload some light 30/30cal for my 9yrs old boy out of a single shot rifle (22" barrel). I have extensive reloading experience with 38cal, 357mag and 45acp, but never reloaded rifle. I've resized and trimmed all the cases and are ready for reloading. The issue is I only have BullsEye to work with. I bought some 110gr Rem JSP slugs at Cabela's. Before you hang me, I do cast for all my pistols and I intend to do the same for my boy's 30/30. I just haven't found a mould yet. Have any of you guys reloaded with BullsEye for 30/30 or similar? I have a guestimate of the amount to powder to use, but more info would be great. I would start with about 5.8-6.0gr of BE and Fed primers. I'm looking for a light round since my little one is little indeed(52lbs). Any comments are welcome.:drinks: Later

Scrounger
08-22-2007, 04:20 PM
Joel, I have no experience at all in using Bullseye in rifle cases. Unique would work well as would anything with a slower burning rate. I see you are in New Braunfels; there is every liklihood that I will be moving there but it would be 6 months to a year before that happens. I have several hundred pounds of all different kinds of powders and I would be happy to give you a pound of suitable powder if there were any reasonable way to send it. I'm sure my nephew will be driving back and forth between here and there in coming months for his company which is moving there. When that opportunity comes up, I will contact you about it. Watch your PMs.

Joel Chavez
08-22-2007, 04:32 PM
You will be most welcome in God's Country sir. New Braunfels has much to offer besides the water park(rip off!). I work for the Utility Co. in town as an Environmental Analyst. Let me know when you move into town. Dietz gun range and Bexar County range are just minutes from downtown NB.:drinks: Keep in touch. Thanks for the insight. Later.

onceabull
08-22-2007, 04:45 PM