PDA

View Full Version : Walther P-38 Questions

birch
03-19-2013, 03:07 PM
I recently took a gun down to one of the few gunsmiths in Michigan who do a good job at drilling and tapping Mauser receivers. While I was waiting to talk to the smith, I noticed a P-38 in the case. It caught my attention mostly because it had metal grips instead of the bakelite looking grips on most p-38's I have seen. He had $400.00 on it and since I have never owned a WWII P-38, I put it on layaway.
I know guns, but I am not an expert in WWII German guns. I was hoping a Walther guru could give me an idea of what I had as far as history and value.
The gun is in excellent condition with a really nice blueing that looks to be original. It has SVW 45 marks on a few different places including the slide and frame. The serial number is 1254G and all the serial numbers match on the frame and slide. It has German waffanampts on the slide and frame. It also has a star on the right side next to an eagle over waa 135. On the left side of the frame it has a stamp that looks like a clover leaf and it also has "BH" stamped as well. From what I can tell, the grips are not numbered. The barrel block also has an eagle over waa135.
There seems to be conflicting information on the internet. If anyone has any written in stone information on the history of the pistol as well as the approximate value a feller would expect to pay if he saw one sitting on a gunshow table, It would be appreciated.

Thanks alot.

Armand
03-19-2013, 06:04 PM
Please understand, that I am NOT the greatest P 38 expert there is. Usually, a gun made as late in WW II as yours, wonīt have the best finish or quality.

I think yourīs was made by Spreewerke of Berlin, again, not the best quality.

The "BH" means it was used in the Austrian "Bundesheer" after the war.

Plus: canīt be worst quality made, as it was accepted.

Minus: additional wear.

Lots of it, if not somewhere in storage.

It should have a steel frame.