PDA

View Full Version : .41 Swiss reloading problems

Battis
03-17-2013, 11:15 AM
I'm reloading .41 Swiss for a Vetterli. I bought the Lee .41 dies and made some cases from Winchester .348 brass. I'm working on getting the exact length for the cases. I cast some
.430310 bullets and tried seating them into formed cases. This is where I'm having trouble.
(I'm new to reloading. I've only reloaded 50-70s.)
1st - the bullets are seating at an angle. Is the "seater" inside the die supposed to be loose?
2nd- I cannot get a crimp. How do you crimp a case?
Thanks.

salpal48
03-17-2013, 11:36 AM
I also have dies for the Swiss. the seater stem should not be loose . on the lee there is no lock nut. Maybe your stem is up to high
as for the crimp
Run the die down and the case gently up until the sizes cases reaches the crimp ring . its by feel. then back off 1/4 to 1/2 turn . Then start seating the bullet by bringing the stem down. Then when the bullet get seated appox where you want it adjust the entire die down that 1/2 turn and see how the roll crimp is . not too tight and not too loose. It's all by feel and how you like and practice
Hope this helps
Sal

Battis
03-17-2013, 01:14 PM
The seater flops around in the die from side to side. When I unsrew the clamp nut, it comes right out and is in two pieces. Maybe it's broken?
I'l try again. Thanks.

Dan Cash
03-17-2013, 01:28 PM
It is broken.

Battis
03-17-2013, 05:59 PM
Yeah, that makes sense. The seated bullets look like they can shoot around corners.
Thanks.

Battis
03-17-2013, 08:43 PM
salpal48 (or any Swiss .41 reloaders):
Do you crimp the Swiss .41? Is it necessary?

salpal48
03-17-2013, 09:10 PM
If your going to load in the tubular mag a proper crimp wold be necessary to hold the bullet from sliding back under pressure from the mag . But if your loading single shot it won't matteras long as the bullet is tight
sal

Battis
03-17-2013, 10:37 PM