PDA

View Full Version : Greeting started casting - beginner level

mookiie
03-16-2013, 09:37 PM
All,
I have been reloading for a few years now and I am seriously considering casting my own bullets. Could anyone here point me to some knowledgable resources I can use to get started? I shoot a lot of firearms in a lot of categories from .223 - 12 gauge slug. (Can you even cast bullets for 223?). I would be looking to load for semi autos - Garand, sks, ar, bolt rifles K98, Carcano, k31, Mosins, shotguns both slug and shot, revolvers and semi auto handguns, 357, 1911, .40 etc etc. my starting base of knowledge would be I know you melt lead and reform in molds to cast, but that is about it. Also if anyone could recommend a good loading manual for cast bullets or anything that would be useful. I am planning to start with pistol calibers, then move to shotgun, and rifle last.

Thanks for any help you can give!

williamwaco
03-16-2013, 09:57 PM
http://www.lasc.us/Fryxell_Book_Contents.htm (http://www.lasc.us/Fryxell_Book_Contents.htm)

http://www.amazon.com/Lyman-Cast-Bullet-Handbook-Edition/dp/B004DWBKQY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1363485506&sr=8-1&keywords=lyman+cast+bullet+handbook

454PB
03-16-2013, 10:10 PM
And yes, you can cast boolits for .223.

Jim..47
03-16-2013, 10:12 PM
I'm down loading that book myself, don't know yet what is in it.

The first thing to learn is safety. Always protect your eyes, I say again, always protect your eyes. Its preferred also to protect your feet, legs, all of your face. I'm sure you getting the picture.

If you drop your boolits into water or water in any form, frozen or not keep all water away from your casting pot. Even a couple small drops will make your pot explode like 5 hand grenades, or worse.