PDA

View Full Version : Is there such a thing as a "Lee Loader" for shotgun shells?

Chicken Thief
03-12-2013, 04:05 PM
I usually roll crimp, but i would like to experiment with star crimping.
As i load for slugs i dont want/need a full Lee Load All or other big press just to make star crimps.
So the question is: Is there such a thing as a handtool that will do star crimps?

repawn
03-12-2013, 04:42 PM
They did make the lee loader for 12 Gauge and others - you can find them on eBay for 35-50 dollars.
I found a lee load-all sitting in the back of the lgs for $10.

fcvan
03-12-2013, 08:03 PM
I bought a Lee Load-all many years ago because a buddy needed some shells loaded and dads equipment is still at the farm. I was surprised at how well it worked so I've been using it for 25 years. It would be neat to find a 12 gauge Lee Loader or better yet 20 gauge just to have them.

longbow
03-12-2013, 09:34 PM
I have a Lee Loader for 12 ga. and bought it new about 35 years ago. Not sure if they are still available but as mentioned, the Lee Loadalls work pretty well and are not expensive. Not as portable as a Lee Loader though.

Also, rereading, yes, Lee at least used to make plastic star crimp starters in 6 and 8 fold. I have both and again, they are about 35 years old. You just put them over the case mouth and whack with a mallet.

I have not seen any in years and haven't checked the site but I doubt they still make them. You could probable buy MEC or other press mount crimp starters and mount them in a tube to whack with a hammer. That should do what you want. In fact, if memory serves the Lee Loadall crimp starter is double sided so that could be mounted in a tube and give you both crimps.

Having said that I picked up a MEC Sizemaster press pretty cheap them a MEC 600 Junior for $25.00 (and with lots of accessories!) and I love them them. I use both for shotshell and slug reloading.

Different strokes!

Longbow

singleshot
03-12-2013, 10:08 PM