PDA

View Full Version : SR1911 last round feed failure

prs
03-09-2013, 09:44 PM
Out of 100 rounds at 7 per magazine I had three instances where the last round out of the magazine failed to feed, the live round trapped vertically in the action. I am a bit new to 1911s, but have seen this mentioned before. Are my mag springs getting weak, or my load too wimpy, or.....?

WW LP, Starline, 5gr Unique, Lee 452-230-TC, OAL set using barrel as gauge for max length with good "plunk" test.

Have shot several thousands of these over the past several months, but today was first such incident of this.

prs

CJR
03-10-2013, 09:22 AM
prs,

Last round problems, like your "stovepipe" failure, tend to be caused by a weak mag spring. What happens is the spring becomes weak and the recoil causes the follower to depress slightly and release the last round before the slide can feed the round forward. When the slide does contact the round, it is already standing-up. Get some heavier springs. Likewise, truncated cone bullets need to have shorter OAL to feed properly.

Best regards,

CJR

prs
03-10-2013, 09:59 AM
Thanks, CJR. If I seat that particular boolit much deeper, my taper crimp will be close to or even on the truncate area, but I will investigate.

I have had an occasional "stove pipe" with this pistol, very seldom, but always before with an empty case not fully ejecting. I simply wipe that away with a swipe of my free hand. Those cases are often found to be mashed severely enough to be creased beyond usable state.

That brings up a variable I failed to recognize at first, I shoot single handed with either hand. I hope I am not losing strength to the point of "limp wristing"! I don't EVEN like the sound of that. I will shoot another 100 today paying attention to grip strength.

But why was it just the last rnd of a mag?

prs

Silver Jack Hammer
03-10-2013, 10:41 AM
To see if you are limp wristing, intentionally limp wrist and see if you can duplicate the same type of malfunction.