PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help with load data for 308 win.

BigRso
03-04-2013, 06:27 PM
Hello everyone,

I am new to casting actually am waiting on my equipment I just oredered that New lol. Anyway I will be using a Lee 2 Cavity Rifle Mold, 7.62x39 155 Gr. 2R GC Standard Lube for my ptr-91 a G3 clone made on HK machinery, and also a Savage model 16 308 win. bolt gun. I can not find any loads for my current powders on hand, in stock I have H322, Varget, Cfe 223 , and power pistol. Any help would be greatly apprecited really would like to use H322 to load these rounds since I have alot on hand. I will be tumble lubing with 45/45/10 and sizing to 309 dia. I also picked up aluminum GC. For most part will be punching paper at a 100 yards and may be using for hunting in bolt gun. I picked up lead on ebay clip on WW approximately 6% antimony.

Thanks in advance Mike

BigRso
03-05-2013, 12:04 PM
Hoping some one will point me in the right direction. Lol

Larry Gibson
03-05-2013, 12:58 PM
Read BruceB's ; http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?3558-7-62x51-NATO-(-308-WCF)-in-the-Springfield-M1A

Almost everything there will apply to your PTR-91. If your 91 has an adjustable gas port then close it down and adjust back open to an easy on ejection setting if you get functioning with any semblance of accuracy with the H322 powder and that light weight bullet. Frankly that bullet is too light weight; you will probably be at too high a velocity when you get functioning. Remains to be seen though but that's my experience with gas guns, including HK 91s.

I suggest a heavier bullet such as Lee’s C309-180-R or C309-200-R. Both will give much better performance in the 91. A slower powder may also be required. All is covered in Bruce’s thread.