View Full Version : Tumbling Boolits

TXGunNut
03-03-2013, 12:56 AM
My sweet little Marlin 336 30-30 is going to drive me to drinking. :???: Keep thinking there's something not right, terrible groups and occcasionally a missing hole or two in the target. First I shot my 32WS 94 w/ open sights @ 50 and got a group I could live with. I'm not very good with peeps and my aging eyes didn't make it any easier. 10 shots into 2.5", 8 into just under 2. :drinks:
Then I decided to shoot the Marlin on the short range and the problem was immediately clear after 10 rounds. Best I could do with a scoped rifle over sandbags was 3"....as long as you don't count the two oblong holes about 5" below the rest of the group. :( On closer examination three other rounds appeared to be yawing a bit.
Guess I'll uncase it in the morning and give it a good cleaning and going-over. It also developed feeding issues tonight as well so Project Thutty-Thutty has taken a bad turn, sure hope it will recover.

TXGunNut
03-03-2013, 01:33 PM
Cleaned and checked things out a bit closer, still puzzled. Bore is an 11 groove Microgroove and best guess is .307 groove/.305 land diameter. Bore seems to be very smooth with minimal tight spots, if any. Slug went thru nice and smooth. Crown is very smooth and seems a bit deep, makes me wonder if it has been recrowned. Serial # is 10004XXX.
Disassembled the action and didn't find the cause for the feeding issue, did find a pretty crappy trigger/sear engagement but I'm not going to address that.
I'm stumped but that doesn't take much sometimes. Thinking I'll reassemble and rename "Project Thutty-Thutty" to "Tradebait". She's a pretty thang.
Any suggestions?

uscra112
03-03-2013, 06:36 PM