PDA

View Full Version : Rechambering .223 to .222

floydboy
03-02-2013, 08:17 PM
I know it can be done but can it be done without a lathe? If I understand the different cartridge relationships the .233 is basically the same as the .222 just longer. The barrel would have to be shortened. Then can the existing left over chamber be hand reamed with a .222 reamer to form the new chamber or is there too much metal that will have to be removed? I have read an article on the switchbarrel site where he shortens the barrels with a hacksaw and dresses them up with a file when the chamber needs to be shortened.

I am working with savage barrels and actions. Am I just asking for trouble? New barrels in the correct caliber are not cheap and I have found a couple .223 takeoff barrels I can use for little money. This is my first attempt at rechambering. Always done barrel swaps before. Used .222 barrels are not easy to find.

Thanks,,,,Floyd

ipopum
03-02-2013, 10:31 PM
Well yes it can be done but the question is what tools do you have and how handy are you with them.