PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for advice on lead/tin/antimony%

victor3ranger
02-26-2013, 06:16 PM
I will be shooting a 45acp (1911) and several different 9mm's.
What I would like to know from the brains of the casting forum is:
Is Hard lead better to reduce lead fouling?
If so, what is a good mix between lead/tin/antimony?
Is it better to cool boolits in water or let air cool??

I am very new to all this so any advice would be helpful.

Ole
02-26-2013, 06:35 PM
Slug your barrels first.

Once you know what size your barrel is, you'll usually do best making bullets that are .001" over the size of your grooves.

Fit is about 80% of the game. Bullet alloy and lube makes up the other 20%.

I'd say with pistol ammo it's more like 90% fit and 10% alloy and lube.

I use 50% wheel weights and 50% pure lead add around 1% tin and water drop the bullets into a bucket for 90% of my casting. Runs around 16BHN or so the last time I tested it.

turmech
02-26-2013, 06:42 PM
The 1911 should not be picky. Size to .452 or as cast if it is 452 or a little larger. Water dropped won't hurt but not needed. Most alloys will work other than pure should be fine. I have used straight WW and 50/50 (WW/pure}. Add enough tin as needed for mold fill out. I add ½ ounce of 50/50 soldier per pound of alloy.

I have no experience with 9 mm. I will let others comment.

cs86
02-26-2013, 07:07 PM
Would it be best to find some tin here if possible or are there other places that sell it for reasonable prices? I'd like to have some on hand for my WW but its so expensive.

DrCaveman
02-26-2013, 07:19 PM
Cs86

I've scored a lot of solder from garage sales, good source of tin generally. Often the seller may make you buy the whole box of stuff including broken soldering guns/irons but if you can get 5 pounds or so of 50/50 solder (lead/tin) then you will be set fora while and shouldn't cost you more than $5 or so. Even $10 would prob be worth it, you aren't kidding about tin being expensive.