PDA

View Full Version : Finding center of 1/2" rod?

Wayne Smith
02-25-2013, 10:38 AM
For the machinists out there I know that there must be some easy way to find the center of the end of a 1/2" rod. Remember, I'm a psychologist, I don't have that education.

I am at the point of drilling 1/2"x1/2" brass rod to make powder bushings for my Pacific Pistol Powder measure. My first attempt was with a #27 drill, a consistent 1.2gr BE. I PM'ed Froggie about that, if you remember his attempts to load his 32 Short. I'm doing the same thing, so that was a blessing.

It was vastly off center - but doesn't matter for that small. When I get to bigger charges I need to be very closely centered. How? Is there a spring loaded gadget that slips over the end of the rod and pull and let go and - wammo - a centered mark?

HollowPoint
02-25-2013, 11:16 AM
I would generally draw a 1/2" by 1/2" square on a piece of paper.
I would then cut out that square and slip my 1/2" rod into it.

From there I could then draw an X from corner to corner of my newly drawn 1/2" square.
That should give me the exact center of my 1/2" round stock.

P.S. I'm not a machinist or a psychologist. I'm an auto upholsterer.

HollowPoint

bruce drake
02-25-2013, 11:18 AM
I would generally draw a 1/2" by 1/2" square on a piece of paper.
I would then cut out that square and slip my 1/2" rod into it.

From there I could then draw an X from corner to corner of my newly drawn 1/2" square.
That should give me the exact center of my 1/2" round stock.

P.S. I'm not a machinist or a psychologist. I'm an auto upholsterer.

HollowPoint

Or use a Metal Triangle to draw bisecting lines on the end of the round stock.

theperfessor
02-25-2013, 11:25 AM
Wayne -