PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible?

Scout800a
02-23-2013, 01:43 AM
Hi Guys,

I'm hoping to benefit from your experience. My Brothers and I all have 30-06 rifles. I'd like to get a mold to put together a plinking load. Here is the kicker, we all shoot 165 grain bullets and have our scopes set for them. Is it possible to put together a reasonable load with a cast bullet that would keep the same point of aim out to about 100yds without leading up the barrel bad? Would shooting a lighter bullet at middle velocities do it? Something like 120-130 grain? I've a good stock of Lino to cast from and anticipate gas checking them. Recommend a mold? (preferably a Lee for costs sake, but any would be appreciated) this is my first attempt at casting for a rifle.

Thanks!

Andrew Mason
02-23-2013, 02:02 AM
its not likely that you will get the necessary velocity to get the same point of aim/point of impact as with your 165s
the cast boolits you would shoot would probably end up a bit low due to a lower muzzel velocity.

not to say the rounds you produce wont be good for plinking, or practicing... but they wont be the same

MtGun44
02-23-2013, 03:46 AM
Not likely. Possible, but high velocity is much more difficult to do than 1700-1800 fps.

You can kill coyotes all day with that load at 100 yds, but you will have to adjust the scope
up for the lower velocity trajectory. For song dogs you probably want a lighter wt boolit
with a good big HP. Assuming you are trying for pelts rather than just killing pests.
A 130 gr HP would work well, I think.

Plan on adjusting the scopes, but you might luck into it with just the right combo of lt
boolit and moderate velocity. It HAS been done, but usually the loads were popgun
level intended for knocking the heads off of grouse when big game hunting.

Bill

Buckshot
02-23-2013, 06:45 AM