PDA

View Full Version : Lyman 4500 Sizing Off Center

milrifle
02-21-2013, 08:36 PM
I'm still pretty new to casting and VERY new to lubrisizing. I recently got a Lyman 4500 and I'm trying to size some Lee C312-185-1R to .311. They are sizing off center. See photo below. The dark marks are not really there, just something that showed up in the photo. Look how it is sized much more on one side than the other. At first, I was using the set screw on the top punch, but read on here where many just let the top punch float and retain it with a little bullet lube. I tried that and still get off centered sizing. Then, I'm wondering how much this will affect accuracy? I just don't have a feel for it. No doubt is is not a good thing, but how bad is it? Is this something that will turn a 3/4" group into a 7/8" group or is it something that will turn a 3" group into an 8" group?

Then of course, what to do about it? I will admit that the top punch is not the one that is called for in the list posted on this site. It is the one for a 311299, but my bullet centers well in it. It just contacts around the edge, rather than at the point. Is this my problem? I'm thinking not, but I'm new to this.

kartooo
02-21-2013, 08:43 PM
did you buy it new ??
if so send it back !!! i have heard of occasional problems with lyman. sizers not sizing to spec,bullet molds dropping way too small or large. i bought a new 4500 recently and the the reservoir cover was missing and i found a bunch of metal shavings in the lube reservoir !! guess i got lucky as far as being nice and centered.....
hopefully some people on nere with more smarts than me will be able to help you out.

02-21-2013, 09:43 PM
I'd suspect an out-of-round mould, before the 4500. Using a micrometer, make several careful measurements of a number of un-sized boolit diameters.

JonB_in_Glencoe
02-21-2013, 11:43 PM
I can't tell anything from your photo's ???

But, the lyman 450 and 4500 are notorious for being not perfectly aligned.