PDA

View Full Version : Loading the .45 ACP

greenrivers
02-20-2013, 09:56 PM
The Lyman 49th Edition recomends three Lyman cast bullet moulds for use in the the 1911 and I happen to have the second. A 200gr SWC in PB. However it also recomends an OAL for this load as 1.235 (if memory serves me) which puts the crimp at the base of the lube grove. This does not seem right, but I am hesitant to seat deaper as it will increase pressure. I am using a starting load of 4.8 grn of Tite Group. Has anyone run into this? Is it a missprint? I had to leave the reloading bench before looking in any of my other loading manuals, so I though I would run it by some of you as this is my first attempt with the ACP. Thanks for your input.

BACKTOSHOOTING
02-20-2013, 10:49 PM
200 GR. CAST LSWC Hodgdon Titegroup .451" 1.225" 4.8 877 13,400 CUP 5.4 957 16,800 CUP

This is from the winchester web site data

The 45acp is a low pressure round, You should have no problems

220swiftfn
02-21-2013, 03:47 AM
.452 SWC come in a few different flavors, as you've found out. The data that they have listed sounds like it's for something like a HG 68 clone which has a long nose. If you have something closer to a Lyman 452488 (google for a pic) the OAL will be closer to 1.135-1.140 (ish, I'm going by memory here....) But generally, there's the same amount of bullet (boolit) on the inside of the case.

Dan

knifemaker
02-21-2013, 05:05 AM
Your overall lenght will be determined by the 200 gr. bullet you use and what will be reliable in feeding in your gun. Also do not roll crimp the 45 acp cartidge as it headspaces on the case mouth. Use a taper crimp and adjust the crimp at the mouth for a dia. of .471 or .470 for reliable feeding.

greenrivers
02-21-2013, 10:29 AM
Thanks guys. Appreciated.

DrCaveman
02-23-2013, 12:21 AM