PDA

View Full Version : RCBS 1500 bites the dust!

Bill In SC
02-17-2013, 05:22 PM
Well... went down and turned on the RCBS 1500 this morning and seen the post check complete. Then it went south!! It would never zero. The read out kept going all over the place. Tried using the manual zero and nothing... Tried the calibration routine and it would not show stable. Power cycled a number of times with the same results.

Dug out the instructions, and there is no "Reboot"...

Anyone else have this happen?

Will give it a shot calling RCBS in the morning. As it's a holiday for some folks, they may or may not be in...

Only good thing was I took out my frustration by firing up the Boolit pots and casted a few 100. :-D

LUBEDUDE
02-17-2013, 06:41 PM
Welcome to the forum Bill.

Sorry your 1500 crapped out.

dbosman
02-17-2013, 07:03 PM
If you've already done this, please forgive me.
As a computer tech, I'd be looking at the batteries, or the AC adapter before writing the obit.
Good luck.

GabbyM
02-17-2013, 07:07 PM
Mine took a dive about ten years ago. Acted just as you describe. Just been setting on the shelf since. I think RCBS will replace them.

Bill In SC
02-17-2013, 07:41 PM
If you've already done this, please forgive me.
As a computer tech, I'd be looking at the batteries, or the AC adapter before writing the obit.
Good luck.

Good point... I grabbed the Fluke, and the AC adapter checks out dead on the money... So... Gotta be something else.

Bill In SC
02-18-2013, 03:27 PM
Well... after waiting for 25 minutes in the queue, finally got customer service on the line.

Bottom line... Electronic devices are only warranted for a year. However... For the grand sum of $45.00 they will replace the complete unit with a new one and it will have a new one year warranty. Guess that beats $250+ for a new one when you can catch them on sale.

So... Off to the UPS facility.

Love Life
02-18-2013, 03:32 PM
Sweet!!! Yeah RCBS CS is the bee's knees.

DaveInFloweryBranchGA