PDA

View Full Version : Newbie equipment recommendations

AlanF
02-16-2013, 01:46 PM
Hey guys I'm new to casting and I've collected a few molds for my 22 Hornet, 256Win Mag, and now my 32-20. Other than that I have no casting equipment. I'm not likely to become a high volume caster but I would like to make good quality bullets for my three rifles.

Are there any particular pieces of equipment I should look at or should I just get a Lyman starter kit? The sky is not the limit with regards to budget but I also don't expect something for nothing. Please advise a rookie.

P.S. I've been reloading for many years but am new to cast boolits...

Thank you.

David2011
02-16-2013, 04:05 PM
Welcome, Alan,

We're not blowing you off to refer you to the stickies. They have been set aside because of the high value of their information. Browse though the sub-forums and look at the stickies at the top of them.

"Citric Acid Brass Cleaner" and "From Ingot to Target: A Cast Bullet Guide for Handgunners"
under Cast Boolits are a good place to start.

I have a dip pot but prefer bottom pour but most of my casting is for handguns. A 20 pound Lee bottom pour is an inexpensive starter furnace. Uness you buy foundry metal or ingots frm one of the vendors here, you'll need a good heat source like a Cajun cooker and a cast iron or stainless steel (NO ALUMINUM!) pot to mely scrap lead. You don't want to smelt the scrap lead in your casting pot. If smelting scrap, you'll need a slotted spoon to remove the trash, a ladle of over 1 pound capacity to pour the smelted metal into the ingot mold. You'll need sawdust or candle wax for fluxing. There are other options for fluxing but those are available and free or inexpensive.

The .22 Hornet is a tought one to cast for because the boolits are so small and don't heat the mold much. Your rifle boolits will be easier. The 32-20 is a great place to start since it was a cast boolit cartridge originally.