PDA

View Full Version : technics for screwing off rifle barrels

danyboy
02-15-2013, 07:14 PM
Is a barrel vise the only way to screw off a barrel ? Gunsmiths are pretty rare around here. I have to change my barrel and just received a new one. I looked at youtube where some guys screw off their barrels with vises and homemade hard wood bushings. I have had to screw off tight threads in my life ( I worked as a plumber and steamfitter) and sometimes had to use strap wrenches to preserve the finish of chromed piping.
Has anyone ever tried using leather to avoid finish dammage ? Any idea would be welcome.

HollowPoint
02-15-2013, 07:43 PM
What kind of gun?

Are you wanting to salvage the existing barrel? If not, it doesn't really matter what's used to hold the barrel while you unscrew it from the receiver.

If you have a large enough and secure enough Shop-Vise you can do it the way the YouTube guys do it. Look at it like a hot dog with a bun on either side of it. Your barrel is the hot-dog and the hard-wood is your buns.

Wether you use a dedicated barrel-vise or a large-secured shop vise, you're basically doing the same thing with them.

When I re-barreled my Enfield I wasn't to concerned about the old barrel so I filed some flats on the top and bottom of the barrel near the chamber end. It was on so tight that even that didn't help. In the end I made my own barrel vice with some scrap metal I had laying around. I bought some small odd-ball pieces of hard wood at a local wood-craft store and was finally able to get the barrel off.

I was more concerned with the way I held my receiver so as not to bend or twist it when applying the pressure to unscrew the barrel. I ended up milling an action wrench out of scrap metal as well.

HollowPoint

HollowPoint

MtGun44
02-15-2013, 08:23 PM
Gripping the receiver without hurting it is the key if you don't care about the old bbl.
Properly shaped oak blocks in a BIG vise should do for most receivers, and a BIG pipe