PDA

View Full Version : 85 lb lead ingot

qwiksting
02-10-2013, 10:23 PM
Hello to all, i have come into a 85 lb lead ingot. I was told it may have come from a foundry. I did a search on recycled lead and came across this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJj5iIwF8p4 At 1:50 sec mark I seen the ingots that looks very similar. This ingot is at least 15 years old. If in fact this was recycled from Batteries, will it be safe to cast/break down??? I have no hardness tester except for a #2 pencil which looks to lightly scratch it.

Gtek
02-10-2013, 10:44 PM
There is a sticky down in the Lead and Lead Alloy section. I am no scientist, but the read and arguments would make me take to scrap and swap out if you could. Life is to short for 85 lb. block. Gtek

Mal Paso
02-10-2013, 11:06 PM
Doesn't matter if it Came from batteries, It's Refined Lead Now. It's probably pure though as battery lead has about 1-2% antimony. If you're worried I'll shoot a few pounds for you, no charge, just send me a sample.

The warning is about melting down Your Own batteries.

Ingots like the video usually have lifting tabs on each end and are called Pigs the 2,000 pounders are called Sows.

qwiksting
02-10-2013, 11:24 PM
No, not too worried. i cut a piece off, took the butane torch, small ladle and cast a double 150 gr .38. It is very shiny, and soft. i need to figure out the how, and where do I find part of the forum to harden this lead. It is "pure Lead". Any answers tot this would be greatly appreciated. i read somewhere about 90% lead 5% tin and 5% antimony. So where can I find the rest of the recipe? or if this is not it, what would be a good recipe for .38/.357 and .45 acp???

Cherokee
02-10-2013, 11:36 PM
I use a 1.5-2% tin, 3% antimony alloy for most of my CB's. To get metals to harden your find, try Rotometals link at the top of this page for foundry stuff, or our own classified section.

qwiksting
02-11-2013, 08:20 AM