PDA

View Full Version : New problem with S&W wheelgun

bcr
02-10-2013, 08:16 PM
I got a good deal last year on a used S&W 696 (.44 Special, L-frame). As far as I could tell it hadn't been fired, but who knows. Anyway, it looked to be in mint condition and had a better than average trigger. Today I had it out on the range for the second time, and after the first cylinder full I started to have problems with the trigger where it was very difficult to pull or stopped about 3/4 of the way back and would go no further. I was shooting qualification for my CCW so I didn't have opportunity to fuss with it and after the instructor took a look at it and reproduced the problem he sent me back to the tables and said I could pass anyway (since he already saw what I did with my 1911). I have been shooting revolvers for twenty years and this is the first time I have experienced this failure mechanism. When I got it home I still had the same problem. I was able to cock it SA then and free it up for a couple of shots, then it came back for a couple more, then I got it free and dry fired maybe 30 times without a problem. Is that just some grit in the action for some reason, and what should I do about it? Do I need to get it to a gunsmith. It's one of my favorite guns otherwise and I'd like to have it 100% reliable. I might carry it once I can get the gun qualified to my satisfaction.

rockshooter
02-10-2013, 08:40 PM
First thing I would do is clean it, esp under the extractor star. One grain of powder under there will bind things up. Secondly, make sure the ejector rod is tight- sometimes these back out and bind things up. It's doubtful that you have any serious mechanical problems.
Loren

williamwaco
02-10-2013, 08:53 PM
I suspect you find the cylinder very hard to turn.
So hard that it is nearly impossible to turn with the double action trigger pull.

This is nearly always caused by rounds not seating fully in the cylinder and rubbing against the recoil shield.