PDA

View Full Version : My .45 ACP Arisaka Action

andremajic
02-09-2013, 07:13 PM
Hey guys,
First of all, I'm sorry if these pics aren't in chronological order, but I'm not very good at making threads.
I had posted earlier that I was planning on putting a .45 ACP barrel on my type 38 action.
Finished it last night.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60823&d=1360450743
Cutting the threads
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60822&d=1360450738
Testing the thread fit in the action.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60821&d=1360450732
Next, I put the bolt, minus the extractor in and started using spotting compound to bore out the recess for the bolt face. Every time I got closer and closer, I would mark it with a black sharpie marker and close the bolt a couple times, which would rub the sharpie off and show that more needed to be taken off.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60820&d=1360450722
Here's a pic of the threaded barrel, with all the moly-dee cutting oil cleaned off.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60819&d=1360450714
Here's a pic of the assembled action.

andremajic
02-09-2013, 07:14 PM
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60818&d=1360450701
I still need to take the barrel off and spin it on the lathe and put a final finish on it, removing machine marks and scratches.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60817&d=1360450695
Here's a pic showing how the brass fits the chamber with enough of the rim for the extractor to catch.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60816&d=1360450689
Here's a pic showing the sharpie marker, which I used to spot in the bolt face. Wherever the sharpie rubbed off inside, material was slowly removed.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=60815&d=1360450683