PDA

View Full Version : 690 Round Ball in rifled barrel

ihunts2much
02-06-2013, 08:04 PM
I shoot a lot of deer between nuisance permits and regular season. The price of sabots really chews at my wallet.I have been toying with this idea for a few years and finally got er done! I wanted to share my results. I cast some .690 balls from soft lead and did a bit of searching for appropriate load data. I settled on a fairly light 1 1/8 oz target load recipe with green dot powder. The velocity is listed at 1100 fps. My theory was to keep the velocity mild to get acceptable accuracy from a barrel twist that is too fast to really push a round ball. I don't have a chrono but I suspect the ball is traveling a good bit faster than the published recipe, or perhaps the ball is retaining the velocity better than a load of shot. I set the ball in a AA replacement wad, but thought it was a bit too tight when I test fit it through the Hastings barrel for my 870. I cut 2 opposing petals off and liked the fit through the bore. I loaded up 3 rounds and went to the range. At 50 yards I had 3 shots touching, and right at the point of aim! I rushed home and loaded up 3 more. This time I tried them at 100. 3 shots yielded a 6" wide horizontal string approximately 5" below point of aim. I will load and shoot a bit more, but this looks promising. I think I have a solid 75-80 yard deer killer that I can make for pennies a shot. There is no sight adjustment needed to interchange these and the sabots in my barrel. I can keep a RB chambered and if a deer comes by under 80 yds I can take it with the round ball. If one is out in a field at 80-150, if I want I can change over to a sabot and spend a few bucks.

Green Lizzard
02-06-2013, 08:25 PM
i use same load except denem patch (old jeans)

longbow
02-06-2013, 09:52 PM