PDA

View Full Version : Noob question. is this stuff worth it

Tomc jr
01-29-2013, 04:58 PM
I am new to casting. Used to watch my dad do it as a kid and now I have my own boy comin up and trying casting as a way to keep the guns fed as i am not a rich man. I was looking for lead to get started with and a buddy of mine that runs a junk yard mentioned he has 5000 pounds or so of lead that was used in the heat treating process at our local hammer manufacturing plant. they discontinued whatever process they were using and went to somthing else so he ended up with the lead and crucibles. I can get it for short money ( a little each paycheck lol). Question anybody know if this stuff worth wild

montana_charlie
01-29-2013, 05:40 PM
I would be remiss if I didn't start by saying, "Welcome".

Without knowing any more than you have divulged, I would still say it IS worth buying.
If it was used to anneal steel hammers, it is probably pure lead.
Even if you don't ever cast a bullet, you can probably sell it here for a buck a pound.

CM

knifemaker
01-29-2013, 06:46 PM
Get all you can and test it for hardness. If it shows to be a hardness for pure lead, you can sell or trade the pure lead for wheel weight or lino type lead for mixing with your pure for your boolit casting. Lead is getting harder to get in many states and the price is going up all the time. So get as much as you can afford.

badgeredd
01-29-2013, 07:07 PM
My guess (note it IS a guess) is the lead may well be pure lead. One can use a lead bath to temper steels and I'd imagine that could well be the previous use for it. I have made springs for old guns and I temper them in a lead bath. Works quite well I might add.

"knifemaker" makes some good points in his post.

Edd

runfiverun
01-29-2013, 09:11 PM
if these are crucibles they are more along the lines of ceramic.
and are made from lead oxide.