PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Lee Pot Spout Freeze

Rich22
01-25-2013, 04:56 PM
Gentlemen

I am brand new to this and hopefully you guys can help me. Have a new Lee 20 Lb pot and have found that unless I have the temp in excess of 725 (have thermometer) that the spout will solidify and I have to hit it with a torch to get it to flow again, It will then solidify within about 45 seconds unless I pour more. What can be done to prevent this or could I be doing something wrong?

Thank you

OuchHot!
01-25-2013, 05:30 PM
I haven't had that problem with my Lee but my pro-melt used to do that. I wrapped the pizzle with some insulation and that seemed to fix it. I had to clean it very thoroughly first.

Frozone
01-25-2013, 05:52 PM
I second the insulation.
BUT it doesn't do a lot on the LEE 20#.
You need to leave the bottom open so the handle can move up and down.
About all you can do is put insulation under the cover on the bottom.
About 1/4" thick.

You can use fiberglass for this, but it's marginal,
Ceramic wool is a better material.

I got about 25º from adding the insulation.
I get freeze about 675º after insulating.

snuffy
01-25-2013, 07:27 PM
What's the temp in the room? Outside? Ambient temp at too low a temp can wreck havoc on the spout freeze. Especially if there's a slight breeze!

500MAG
01-25-2013, 07:32 PM
What's the temp in the room? Outside? Ambient temp at too low a temp can wreck havoc on the spout freeze. Especially if there's a slight breeze!

I agree with Snuffy. I use the same pot never had the problem. Then again, I live in South Florida.

dragon813gt
01-25-2013, 07:43 PM
I get it if there is any debris in the spout. And sometimes when I leave lead in it and remelt it from a solid. Once I get going it's fine. I use a butane grill lighter. Takes all of five seconds to free it up.

Rich22
01-25-2013, 08:07 PM
Was in garage temp approx. 60 degrees. Live in orlando so not exactly freezing here. I will clean it and try again.

500MAG