PDA

View Full Version : help identifying lee press

bgclevenger
01-25-2013, 09:06 AM
hello folks and good morning. i'm new to reloading and to this site but i've already found alot of useful information here. perhaps someone could further... shopping around for a good, used press i came across this

i've heard mixed reviews on lee presses, with some models receiving better opinions than others. would anyone be able to tell which model this is or have any info on it? many thanks.

brian

William Yanda
01-25-2013, 09:12 AM
Check the Lee Precision site for a definitive answer. Its obviously a single stage, bench mounted press, "O" design is stronger than the "C" type. rust on the handle will not affect performance. Was it free?
Bill

bgclevenger
01-25-2013, 09:41 AM
don't have the press at the moment; deciding wether or not to buy it. the seller didn't have any other info on the press other than "its not cast iron its solid steel stronger than cast iron". thanks again.

brian

r1kk1
01-25-2013, 09:49 AM
Challenger press.

r1kk1

VHoward
01-25-2013, 09:52 AM
Lee doesn't have any solid steel presses. Everything Lee makes is either cast aluminum or cast iron depending on model.

r1kk1
01-25-2013, 09:53 AM
Aluminum press not sold steel. Midway sells one for 60.00. Lee has updated the linkage on the older ones. Had one and returned on Lee's 30 day policy.

Take care

r1kk1

EMC45
01-25-2013, 10:54 AM
New Challenger presses are built differently than this older model you show. Newer ones are cast like the cast steel press (Classic Cast). It is a Challenger press. Decent presses, but I believe the newer ones are a far better value.

Guesser
01-25-2013, 11:52 AM
That model in it's first variation was introduced in the early 80's, 30 years ago, doesn't seem that long. It was named "The Challenger 2000" was guaranteed until 2000, or so. I still have the one I bought in 1984. The linkage was updated by Lee a couple times on mine. Good press and still in regular use.

wallenba