PDA

View Full Version : Hornady primer pocket tool

TNtrapper
01-22-2013, 09:40 AM
Hey guys,
Ive always used commercial brass for my .223....BUT I was given 2000 once fired Lake City military brass 5.56 casings last week. Now Ive got to remove these primer crimps. I was going to order a RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo but seems with all the demand these are sold out everywhere. How does the Hornady or Lyman hand tools work? Ive been able to locate these and was thinking of ordering one. Im new to military brass so any opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!:-D

Possum
01-22-2013, 10:27 AM
Some people are using this as a substitute:

http://www.harborfreight.com/1-2-half-inch-six-flute-countersink-93342.html

oldtoolsniper
01-22-2013, 12:06 PM

If you go with that thing from horrible freight you may want to read the reviews on their web site. It is not carbide and it is not sharp nor is it intended for metal. Other than that I bet it's perfect...

Get the Hornady, I have one and it's good for about 3500 military crimps. I use mine on the RCBS prep center. As you can see from the picture it is shaped like a primer and you cut till it stops (flat on end) and the primers will fit. I have the RCBS swager and the crimp remover for the prep center. I prefer the Hornady no adjusting just cut till it stops.

TNtrapper
01-22-2013, 06:52 PM
Thanks Oldtool! Thats what I was looking for. I placed an order today from Midway for one. Ive been wanting a prep center but just never could justify one until now. I just ordered the Hornady bit to rig up on my Dremel tool at slow speed......but after seeing that prep center i might just have to break down and finially get me one. Have any of y'all ever tried the Hornady prep center? Ive looked at both and cant decide between the two.

RKJ
01-22-2013, 07:02 PM