PDA

View Full Version : K31 NOE Range Report (Pics & Data)

nitrohuck
01-20-2013, 04:08 PM
So I am a novice reloader, let alone CB shooter, but thanks to some members here I have gotten sample cast boolits to try out before spending the $100 for an NOE mold.

My "first" trip to the range yielded no results worth posting, it was my first time even reloading rifle rounds, so I had boolits flying all over the place to say the least... Didn't even record the data, just left the range disheartened.

The second time around, I took a lot more time and energy and focused it on my case prep, and the results certainly began to show, although I have a ways to go I think.

CASES: Prvi Brass (Trimmed to 2.179")

BOOLIT: NOE K-31 Mold, Gas Checked, Sized @ .309"

CHARGE: 18-20 grains, Alliant 2400

Primer: CCI #200 Large Rifle

OAL: 2.890"

Right off the bat the results were promising with 18.0gr of 2400:

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i61/nitrohuck/18gr-24002_zps6a2ad3c0.jpg

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i61/nitrohuck/18gr-2400_zpsc6ccb181.jpg

18.5 & 19.0gr were not very promising:

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i61/nitrohuck/185gr-2400_zpsb459cb2a.jpg

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i61/nitrohuck/19gr-2400_zps6f492377.jpg

Then I really was unsure what to make of the 20.0gr load, the first two shots were god awful! I figured "yep, this one is certainly a no go," and then the last three shots all went right on top of one another, so maybe I need to mess with this more...

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i61/nitrohuck/20gr-2400_zps080798c5.jpg

I also have a confession to make, I cheated and used a scope with the clamp on mount... I did this because I wanted to take some shooter error out of the equation, ultimately I really want to just use iron sights, but before I do that I want to find a load that I KNOW will be reliable. The targets posted above probably reflect my reloading skills much moreso than my shooting skills,

I have a few questions: