PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy Question, Freechex vs Hornady GC

RCE1
01-20-2013, 02:07 PM
I am somewhat new to gaschecks, but have been casting and shooting for decades.

Most of my CB shooting has been BPCR competition, which I participated in successfully for a number of years. Business, home life changes and rising fuel costs curtailed my competition a few years back, but I have recently returned to casting with a few .30 cal rifle moulds and have been using gaschecks. I have several thousand Hornady checks in this caliber, but wanted to experiment with making my own aluminum checks. I bought a FreechexIII and a few rolls of Yonky's material. The output seems to fit well and the material is soft enough to work easily, but I have noticed the corners of the aluminum checks are noticeably more rounded than the corners of the ready made copper checks. I think I am using the Freechex setup properly and they seem to be very consistant in shape, fit and weight, but the rounded corners have given me pause. Theoretically, as long as the Freechex are consistant in fit, all should be fine, but the difference between the two types makes me wonder. Shooting cast bullets in general introduces a number of variables into the equation and variability in gaschecks adds yet another factor.

To those who have done more extensive testing than I have time for these days, have you noticed a measurable difference in accuracy between the copper checks from Hornady and the aluminum checks made as I have described above?

Dthunter
01-21-2013, 04:47 PM
Speaking for myself, yes.

I find that when shooting my .308win at velocities below 2000 fps, I notice very little difference.

But as pressure increases,(2000 fps +), I notice the Aluminum gas check load groups just start to expand noticably.

Your milage may vary.

Ed_Shot
01-22-2013, 07:58 PM