PDA

View Full Version : Component manufacture/distribution capability?

avogunner
01-20-2013, 07:27 AM
Yeah, I remember the primer shortage from 2009 and needless to say, this round is worse by a factor of 10! BUT...........the manufacturers must sill be producing primers and other components, right? 4 years ago, I remember reading that CCI, Winchester, etc all added shifts to their production lines and were producing 24/7 to meet demand and I would imagine the same today (revenue is revenue after all). If so, where is what they're producing going? All my normal outlets are still "Out of Stock", some even say no backorders, and I just saw that police depts are having trouble buying ammo! I would think cases of stuff are rolling out of the warehouses daily but to who? Wouldn't it be reasonable to have expected at least small amounts of stuff available by now? What are their projected schedules? My background isn't manufactureing so I don't know and I'm interested in hearing others thoughts.

Oh too, aren't we still importing powder (Hodgdon) an other foriegn made components (Prvi, Fiocci, Cheddite, S&B, etc)? Where is that going?

Semper Fi.

btroj
01-20-2013, 07:54 AM
Where is I going? Right home with someone who buys it.

I was at Cabelas yesterday. It might as well have been a week before Christmas. Yes, that many people there, many buying.

Shelves are pretty bare, gun cases very bare.

It is being bought as soon as it hits the shelves.

I can assure you it isn't because the manufacturers aren't producing stuff. They are making things fast as they can, they just aren't keeping up with demand.

44 WCF
01-20-2013, 07:55 AM