PDA

View Full Version : RCBS "Cowboy dies"? & moving away

wonderwolf
07-12-2007, 07:09 PM
Thoughts on these "cowboy" dies please? I might pic up a set to load my 45-70 when I move away from all my dads dies, presses and tools :( . I'm a little worried though that the brass fittings or whatever they use will not stand up to the years of reloading I plan to do with them.

I have been extremely privileged to have been able to use his stuff for the past few years and I've been trying to get my own stuff together for when I move away for school again this fall but this time I'll be able to reload in the Apt I'm gonna be in.

This is kinda sad as I've been loading match ammo for several years and handgun ammo since my freshman year in high school but have been using all my dads equipment. Although it gave me a chance to really see what kind of equip I would want when I go to do my own set up. (I learned to shun lee equip with a passion). I'm going to design a nice heavy bench for my place that will wrap around part of the room and serve as a Computer desk, a fish tank stand and a 4' section for reloading and storage underneath.....I do have a 50bmg press and die set though I don't think I'll be using that much so it might stay at home. I have used a turret press for my handgun ammo and I really like it though I think I'll just use a RCBS Rock chuckers instead to save room.

klw
07-12-2007, 07:35 PM
I asked a friend who worked at RCBS once what was different about the Cowboy dies. His answer was that they were cheaper. No other difference.

Do I believe that? Yes! I bought RCBS 45-120 dies back when they were special orders. Cost a fortune. Now they are mass produced and cost almost nothing. So my uneducated guess is that these dies are being made in large numbers and that is why they cost less.

I've used them forever and loaded quite a few rounds and never had any problems.

The myth is that if is costs a lot it has to be better. But that is just a myth.