PDA

View Full Version : hollow point for my 4570

canuck4570
07-27-2005, 02:45 PM
I have a saeco traditional mould 500 gr RN. The load is 23 gr of 4759 IMR. on the chrono it register at 1220 FPS.. aloy is W.W. I will be hunting moose and deer...comments please... by the was the rifle is a ruger no 1 and the front ramp was modified (longer) to be able to mount my burris scout scope....just great no loading port obstructed......thank you in advanced Michel.... so do I need hollow point.... I am asking because I it kicks and I am thinking of reducing the load to 1100 FPS.

fourarmed
07-27-2005, 03:06 PM
Hi, and welcome to the board. I'm no expert on moose, but you might even be better off without HP for penetration, and at that velocity, I don't think you would see much difference on deer one way or the other.

44man
07-27-2005, 03:14 PM
I agree, I would not use a hollow point. With a roundnose you might want to keep it softer with maybe a 20 to 1, lead, tin mix. A hard cast boolit with a large flat meplat would work great too.
Don't worry about the kick when hunting. If it is accurate, leave the load alone.

Junior1942
07-27-2005, 03:16 PM
Why not switch to a pure lead alloy? It doesn't lead in my rifles and pistols below ~1200 fps. Gives great expansion, too.

44man
07-27-2005, 04:01 PM
You got it Junior! I suggested a little tin to make casting easier. Much better then a hollow point WW boolit that might come apart.

nighthunter
07-27-2005, 04:51 PM
I agree with 44man. Go for a large meplat bullet and the moose will be yours as long as you do your part. I have a mountain mold that throws a 440 grain gas check bullet with a 75% meplat and deer die where they stand if my aim is true. Not a whole lot of shot up meat but the shock must be tremendous. I'm only shooting them at about 1500 fps from my Ruger #1 and accuracy is very good.
nighthunter

Bass Ackward
07-27-2005, 05:31 PM