PDA

View Full Version : tumbling buckshot

bbs383ci
01-16-2013, 03:21 PM
i posted the other in the mold forum, about clipping buckshot after casting it. i am getting the sprues close but would like to try using a tumbler to smooth out the buckshot.

what type of media, if any, would i use for this.

thanks
dustin

turmech
01-16-2013, 09:00 PM
I don't tumble my buck shot so I have no first hand knowledge. IIRC I think many report putting buck shot in a pastic jar and riding it around in the back of the car or truck and letting it tumble against itself. I would think a rotary tumbler would work the same with out any media.

I can't see a vibrating tumbler working but again I have not tried.

John in WI
01-16-2013, 09:06 PM
I have been tumbling my buckshot recently, although to be honest I think I do it because it makes me feel better. No noticable change in patterns.

What most folks do is tumble it without media. Simply lead balls smashing together. Eventually the flat spot where the sprue was will hammer itself round. I like to tumble mine in an old rock tumbler for an hour or two, then throw in either some pencil lead (for graphite) until they take on an even dull grey, and sometimes even a bit of Johnson's Paste Wax after that.

My buck is cast from WW with some linotype, and it might be too hard for tumbling to work real well in terms of rounding out the balls. But it's the best way I know of to get a good even coat of lube on them.

Do this in the garage--it makes an AMAZING amount of noise.

RMc
01-16-2013, 10:42 PM
Load hard cast buckshot into a rock tumbler with water. Tumble 2-3 hours or until a smooth polished finish results.

Rottweiler
01-17-2013, 11:38 AM
I tumble my buckshot in a home made tumbler I built from an old propane tank. It looks like a miniature version of a cement mixer. About an hour with a little powdered graphite and about a teaspoon of JPW. Comes out shiny black and I can't tell where the sprues are/were

bbs383ci
01-17-2013, 03:15 PM