PDA

View Full Version : 10 pound pot and dipping

happyhunter
01-14-2013, 10:24 PM
I am new to casting. I bought the Lyman casting kit with a 10 pound pot and ladle set up last summer. Seems to work OK. The problem is I really do not get to cast 10 pounds of boolits before I need to refill the pot. What really happens is I cast about 5 pounds then need to refill. I have problems scooping lead out of the bottom half of the pot.

Am I doing something wrong or do others go thru this too? I have thought about tipping the pot a bit but that just seems to violate commons sense when working with hot liquids. I have a bottom pour pot on order but in was don't like the idea of a malfunction and hot liquids running around.... Anyone make a big dipper pot?

Thanks,
HH

Ben
01-14-2013, 10:31 PM
I really like my Lee 20 pound capacity magnum melter. I use a ladle exclusively.

http://leeprecision.com/magnum-melter.html

Mk42gunner
01-14-2013, 11:12 PM
For purely ladling, Waage is supposed to be the Cadillac of pots. The Model # is K4757-1, and you have to call them.

I have dipped several hundred pounds of alloy from my Lee 4-20 bottom pour. I usually let it get down a few inches then put in another preheated ingot to bring the level back up.

Robert

williamwaco
01-14-2013, 11:20 PM
Ten pound pots are simply not up to serious casting of lots of bullets.

Remember all ratings are full to the rim. Any pot will likely hold only about 80% of its rating and still leave room to stir flux.

If you want to cast a few hundred bullets at a time. You are fine with what you have.
Don't worry about getting the lead out of the bottom. Leave an inch or more in the bottom when you turn it off. Next time you turn it on, it will melt much quicker.

If you want to cast bullets 1000 or more at a setting, you really need a 20 pound pot.
I use the Lee because I don't feel I can justify the cost of the RCBS or the Lyman.