PDA

View Full Version : .32 H&R questions

BigSlick
07-07-2007, 02:36 AM
Hi guys,

I finally got aSP101 32 H&R in a 4" waiting on me when I get home to pick it up. :drinks:

Long, long story but one of my buddies recently (this week) bought the same gun in a 3" barrel.

I've been walking him thru slugging the barrel and throats and he has gotten thru it. Looks like the groove diameter is .312 and the throat diameter is .311+ but not quite .312.

He wants to shoot cast, since he fell into a deal where he ended up with a goodly amount of the Hornady 85gr lead bullets and he knows I am going to pick up a RCBS 98 SWC and probably a Lyman .311008 for moulds.

I'm not experienced enough to make the call on the throat size vs groove size on his gun. My initial thought is it is probably close enough to get by without leading.

From what I read, Cylindersmith will true the throats to .314 for a few bucks and quick turn around.

$64,000 question is, should he send it to be worked over by Cylindersmith, or give it a go with the .311+ throats and .312 groove diameter ?

I know a .313 sizer is available, and it is probably what I will end up with myself. If I drop .314's I will probably shoot them as cast just to see what that gets me. Eventually I would like to make sure my 32 is dimensionally as optimal as possible so if I get leading I can look elsewhere. Plus, if mine turns out to be the same it will probably bug me until I get the throats trued to at least .313.

Can some of you guys point me in the right direction here ?

Thanks in advance for the help ;)
________
Herbalaire Vaporizer Review (http://herbalairevaporizer.com/)

Lloyd Smale
07-07-2007, 05:37 AM
ruger 32s are notoriously small in the throats. Most will shoot fine but all of mine have been opened to 3125 and i use 312 bullets. It will make a good shooting gun into a tack driver.

Mohillbilly
07-07-2007, 07:23 AM