PDA

View Full Version : NY State Militia 50-70 Question

linotype
01-07-2013, 10:30 AM
Hope you don't might a bunch of questions, but I'm looking for good sound advice.

I will be getting a NY State Militia Contract 50-70 Roller soon. It appears to be in good shape, other than some barrel pitting.

I'm new to the 50-70 and have thought about using the rifle for demos at our CAS matches.

How safe are these old rifles to shoot? Should I use 70 grains of BP, or would recommend a milder load? Light weight bullet or the more standard original cast bullet?

I see recommendations about not using smokeless power at all, only black powder.

Should I use blanks only? Load the blanks with black powder, BP substitute, or light smokeless charge?

I saw an old article years ago about using wooden bullets with a light charge at a blank cartridge load level, that could be used to leave holes in a paper target for demos. Any thoughts?

Or, should I just not shoot the rifle and just enjoy its history?

Linotype

nhrifle
01-07-2013, 11:17 AM
The Rolling Block was known as one of the strongest actions of the time so I see no reason not to shoot it. I would definitely avoid smokeless and load it as intended with BP and cast boolits. How much powder you get into the case will depend on the brass as some are thicker than others. Do your research and just have fun with that piece of history. You might want to get a copy of Mike Venturino's book Shooting Buffalo Rifles, available at Buffalo arms and other places.

John Boy
01-07-2013, 01:58 PM
Or, should I just not shoot the rifle and just enjoy its history?
Linotype, erase your concerns and shoot the rifle as it was designed to be shot ... 70grs of black powder WITH a bullet 450 or 500gr bullet

Here's the loading data I use in my 1879 Military 50-70 ... that I shoot out to 1000yds

50-70 Lee 515-450F 457 0.22(BC) 1:20 Starline CCI BR2 Swiss FFg 70gr 0.075 DryFelt 1263fps Avg 13.8 SD - 5x Blows with 6:00 Hold

Ed in North Texas