PDA

View Full Version : Lee 300 Blk Mould

Ironduke
01-04-2013, 12:44 PM
Hello everyone.

I am a total noob at casting. I am an experienced handloader and load for around 30 cartridges, but casting is new to me.

I want to buy a Lee 235 gr 300 Blk mould, and I have some questions. It seems like in an AR you'd want a pretty hard bullet to feed from the mag without deforming, and to keep from leading your barrel or clogging the gas port, but you'd want it to expand on game--maybe just rivet a little would be enough. What alloy should I use?

I am also curious about sizing this bullet. What is the finished diameter I am looking for? I don't have a lube/sizer so if I want to size it I guess one of the Lee sizing dies that is press mounted is what I would use.

Looking at the picture of the bullet it looks like it has a boat tail. If so, how does a gas check attach? Do you use a smaller gas check? And if so, it won't touch the bore at all, so what purpose would it serve? My previous experience with gas checked bullets I have purchased and loaded indicates the gas check prevents the hot gas from cutting the shank of the bullet. Is this not what a gas check does?

What keeps the Lee lube on the bullet? I like the idea of lube grooves; this surface lubing is new to me.

My 300 fireball (pre blackout Redding dies) don't bell the case mouth. Will the cast boolits survive being seated in the cases if the mouth isn't belled?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Paul

Willbird
01-04-2013, 01:04 PM