PDA

View Full Version : Marlin 1895 cowboy 26 inch barrel KA BOOM with 405 cast gc boolit, loading 5744

Two401Pm
01-02-2013, 01:01 PM
Just curious to see if anyone else has had a problem with this powder?? I have been loading and casting for a good many years and have never had a problem.. Until I used this powder.. XMP 5744 28 grains , 405 gas check cast bullett and and book overall length. winchester primer and new winchester brass. I had been shooting this combo for quite some time in a pedersoli sharps with no problem. I had fired several rounds hitting the steel platee target at 200 yds.. loaded the next round squeezed the trigger and Ka boom pieces flew every where, blowing some of the forestock into my arm.. Not Looking to create a problem.. Because I love this sport and I will not sue anyone.. Things happen.. I am just wondering why??? No reason I can find.. I have heard if you shoot long enough and reload long enogh sooner or later something like this is going to occur ,and leave you scratching yer head as to why..

missionary5155
01-02-2013, 01:34 PM
Greetings
I am another long time 5744 shooter. Was out yesterday with some 10 rounds in my 1873. This sounds perplexing. Most accurate smokeless powder I have found in my 50-95 repro.
Were yo able to secure the remains of the brass, boolit and rifle parts ? Maybe there is a clue.
Mike in ILL

Two401Pm
01-02-2013, 01:50 PM