PDA

View Full Version : Noob starting to cast.

Nevada Jack
12-29-2012, 03:55 PM
I'm new to Cast Boolits. I just registered today. I am getting into casting. I need advice on what brand of bullet molds to purchase. Any thoughts? Also is it hard to get old wheel weights. Do shops give them away or do they sell them? If they sell them what is a fair price?

foxtrotter
12-29-2012, 04:56 PM
Where in Nevada? I am in the Reno area. About getting old WWs- talk to your favorite tire store or service station. Getting molds is a fun job. You can buy them at the name stores, from commercial vendors on this site, on line, etc. All other casting equipment is available the same way. Don't overlook estate and yard sales. As others have noted, this is a hobby :):grin::

kweidner
12-29-2012, 07:27 PM
Most of us have all types of moulds. Fair price depends on WW. You could buy it from vendors here already in ingots for $1.00 a pound. Weigh the bucket and make an educated guess. Keep in mind that you are weighing all the trash in the bucket and clips too.

drklynoon
12-29-2012, 08:12 PM
Depending on your contacts WW's can be hard to acquire or you could be covered up in them. As for the mold. I would go to the local outdoor store and get some lead sinkers that are slightly too big to fit in the barrel of the gun you are buying a mold for. Then you slug the throats and barrel. This procedure is layed out in other threads but I'm bringing it up here because Lyman makes good molds but they are often a little under sized. Usually about a thousandth from advertised. If this will work in your gun then I'd go that route. If it won't NOE is a good choice, they are a vendor here, or Lee works as well and is cheap. Do a lot of homework to figure out what design you want. There are lots of things to consider and asking questions is always promoted here.
Cheers,

wv109323
12-30-2012, 12:54 PM
My take on molds is as follows: