PDA

View Full Version : How well does the ultrasonic cleaners clean handguns /parts

bobthenailer
12-27-2012, 04:25 PM
Im only intrested in cleaning hand gun parts such as cylinders, slides & small parts ect. or possibly partially submerging the top half of the frame for cleaning , how well do they clean gun parts and what brand & model ( no lyman products ) do you recomend ?

Awsar
12-27-2012, 06:31 PM
i cant remember the name but i worked in a shop that had 1 it worked great but they r pricey for the good ones.

dragon813gt
12-27-2012, 07:03 PM
Why no Lyman? They don't make their Ultrasonic cleaner. You can buy the same one(minus the basket) at Harbor Freight for less money. I have not cleaned any gun parts with mine. But I did take the springs/balls out of my oil transfer pump that were severely corroded. I use it for water, not oil. I was impressed at first. But the parts did not get any cleaner after the first cycle. These were well beyond the level of gun parts you would be cleaning. It did clean them well but definitely not to the level I hoped for.

bobthenailer
12-28-2012, 02:18 PM
Why no lyman products ? they did me wrong years ago when i bought a new scope , had it on a 22lr sil rifle for years switched to a 7 mag and the crosshairs broke in the scope ( lifetime warranty ) sent it back for repairs , i was told crosshairs arent covered by there warrenty ? cost me $50.00 in the late 1970, i then swore id never buy another lyman product period . ive sent back Leupolds, Redfields and Nikons back for repairs with no charge to me and i wasent the orgional owner of the scopes but I was with the lyman .

cbrick
12-28-2012, 03:12 PM
I have the Hornady Ultra Sonic, it does quite well cleaning brass and parts but I wouldn't buy their cleaning solution. It's only citric acid and extremely expensive from Hornady. Buy the citric acid far cheaper from a soap making place online and mix your own.

Rick

Walter Laich
12-28-2012, 05:42 PM