PDA

View Full Version : cast in bottle neck cases

emorris
12-26-2012, 12:14 AM
I picked up a 55 grain lee bator mold a few months ago from Midsouth, along with a .225 sizing die for my lubsizer. I have decided that it is time to put this mold to work due to the recent run on .223 j bullets. I also have some hornady gas checks on the way. I am new to shooting cast in bottle neck cases and was wondering what would be best to expand the necks. I have a lee universal flare tool but it only flares the case mouth. Will I need somthing that will open up the case neck on 223 remington for the larger bullet. I considered ordering and oversized expander button and then using the flare tool to open up the mouth a little more to seat the bullet. I also considered getting a lyman M die insert. I have the standard pistol M die body, but will it work with 223 remington? I plan to use these through a bolt gun.

runfiverun
12-26-2012, 01:09 AM
dunno, i use the lee neck collet sizer squishy thingy.
the 223 is a little more than plug and play.
be prepared to spend some time and effort on it.
little girl tels me it's a great outlet for my ocd impulses towards orderlyness and perfection though.
i poked and prodded on mine for about 3 years to get things tweaked.

nhrifle
12-26-2012, 01:32 AM
This should be an interesting read for you

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?156326-AR-15-500-Round-Cast-Bullet-Test

Wayne Smith
12-26-2012, 09:03 AM
Either the RCBS cast boolit expander or the Lyman M die are what you need to do the job.

Moonie
12-26-2012, 10:21 AM
The Lee universal expander will also work but the Lyman M die is preferred. I use the Lee.

grouch
12-26-2012, 01:41 PM
With most bottleneck cases you'd be fine with just a good bevel on the case necks, especially if you're using gas checked bullets. The M-die may or may not be an improvement.
Grouch

9.3X62AL
12-26-2012, 07:25 PM