PDA

View Full Version : Will this mould work in this gun?

Just Duke
12-24-2012, 10:44 PM
Will this work? http://www.lymanproducts.com/lyman/bullet-casting/mould-details-blackpowder.php?entryID=86

A 50. cal, Knight LK-II inline rifle?
TIA,
Duke

Maven
12-24-2012, 11:25 PM
Duke, Yes it will IF the front band is large enough to require a strong push to start it into the muzzle. You'll want to use "pure" Pb rather than WW's to cast them though. Lube them with T/C Bore Butter or home brewed Emmert's lube or even beeswax + white Crisco, and seat over 70 - 80grs. FFg or Pyrodex RS. The newer "synthetic" powders, e.g., 777, will also work, but I have no experience with them. If your Knight comes with a #11 nipple, use #11 (or maybe even Rem. #10) percussion caps. If not, #209 shotgun primers will have to suffice, but I think they're overkill with FFg or Pyro. RS. Lastly, some like to use a 1/8" felt wad or thin (tablet backing) cardboard wad over the powder charge to enhance accuracy. Btw, you'll want to damp swab the bore often, possibly after every shot, for max. accuracy and easier seating of additional Maxi-Balls. Hope this helps and that you and Barb have a wonderful Xmas!

gandydancer
12-24-2012, 11:47 PM
YES. and very well. Just for fun shooting I use 70 grs FFG and a over powder wad and a good size dab of Crisco in the Bore & hand lube the bullet with Crisco and slide it down the bore. and shoot for hours with no cleaning between shots until its time to go home. I clean at the range with alcohol peroxide & Murphy's oil. once its clean a mop of rem oil and put it away for next time. GD

Just Duke
12-25-2012, 12:10 AM
Thanks guys. I guess I should try and aquire a sample before purchasing the mould.
This is my first black powder rifle so I'm learning as I go.

Maven
12-25-2012, 10:46 AM
Not certain about that particular Knight model, but they often came with Green Mountain bbl's., which are known for their accuracy.

Just Duke
12-25-2012, 09:58 PM