PDA

View Full Version : Which 9 mm heavy boolit for me?

Petander
06-30-2007, 08:57 AM
Hello, long time no post.

I have been casting for several years now , everything from 357 to 500. Now I have a couple of nice new 9mm pistols and I was thinking of shooting cast with them after all... I like to cast and otherwise reloading 9 mm doesnīt make much sense. I have not shot 9 mm before much at all, I dumped my 40 and now I shoot 9 mm and 45 only , when we talk autos. Well, 10 mm every now and then as a curiosity but 9 mm is my main IPSC tool. 45 for target.

I want a heavy RN or TC boolit (that goes subsonic for noise issues) but I have no idea what mold too look for. Except the Lee "Lee 6-Cavity Bullet Mold 356-125-2R (356 Diameter) 125 Grain 2 Ogive Radius" which is available over here from Midway... but itīs too light Iīm afraid.

A six or four cavity mould, maybe two . Mucho boolits needed.

I shoot a Sig Sauer P228 and a Para 18.9 LDA Ltd , if thatīs for any help.

Thanks for any ideas / experience / advice. Just a reliable, heavy , easy casting / loading 9mm boolit. I know there is one somewhere out there. :Fire:

9.3X62AL
06-30-2007, 10:12 AM
Lyman still shows #356637 as being in production. This is a 147 grain boolit specifically designed for duplication of 9mm sub-sonic loads. I don't have the mold myself, but a buddy at work gave me a couple hundred a few years ago, and they shot well from my 9mm's--SIG 226 and 228, and a Ruger P-89C.