PDA

View Full Version : Reader Pressure in Revolvers

35 Whelen
12-23-2012, 12:46 AM
I've recently acquired a couple of Uberti SA's in .44 Special. Right now the only bullet I shoot is a 429421 that weighs 248 grs. when cast of ACWW. I've tried a book max load of 13.2 grs. of AL2400. The 5 1/2" gun yielded 933 fps and the cases fell out of the cylinder under their own weight. Tonight I began working with Blue Dot and the same bullet. Working up in .5 gr. increments, I finally ran out of daylight when I got to 11.0 grs. The load clocked at 1069 fps and again the cases just fell out of the chambers without the use of the ejector rod.

At this point I'm gauging pressure by ease of extraction. Is this a safe method?

35W

Aces an Eights
12-23-2012, 01:59 AM
My Hornady manual lists max load of Blue Dot for 44 spc 240SWC at 9.1gn (900fps), you might be on the raggedy edge of safety but I'm no expert.

The myth/fact? I hear down at the range is pistol cases do not show pressure signs as well as bottle neck rifle cases.

35 Whelen
12-23-2012, 03:15 AM
My manuals list about 9.0 of Blue Dot as max too, but those are ~13K loads. I found my Handloader #236 in which Brian Pearce lists tons of 44 Special loads. In his Catagory 2 loads (22K psi or less) he lists 11.5 grs. as max with a 250 gr bullet. I'll do some more shooting and chrono-ing tomorrow.

35W

Silver Jack Hammer
12-23-2012, 04:43 AM
For Blue Dot Dave Skovill in his book "Loading the Peacemaker, Colt's Model P" he lists 13 gr with the 245 gr boolit as absolute max in the Colt SAA .44 Special, I've reduced that to 12 gr of Blue Dot in the 245 gr boolit and it is my most favorite hot load in my Colt SAA .44 Special. I own 3 Colt SAA's in .44 Special. However I only use this load a little bit. I've tested it and I carry it in the field but shoot in sparingly in the Colt.

For 2400 Dave Scovill lists 13.5 gr of 2400 in his book "Loading the Peacemaker, Colt's Model P" and Brian Pierce lists 17 gr for post war Colt SAA's.