PDA

View Full Version : Gun Oil?

buck1
07-24-2005, 11:58 PM
Playing with lubes got me to thinking about gun oil.
I have always used good old 3 in 1 oil when I needed some for a moving part. And I use a oil with teflon to wipe guns down (the teflon helps seal the blue agenst rust, or so I was told by a gunsmith), for this I use Rem oil or Slick50-1 lube.
But since I started shooting CBs I want a slight lube in the bbl for the first shot.
I came up with Marvel Mystery oil on a patch , followed by one dry patch.

I think ATF would work I have no Idea how to spell it but (I think its Jojoba Oil based), But I smell that all day , and dont want my guns to smell like it at home.
Any way I was thinking the marvel would be better than the 3 in 1 oil for the few places I want oil on a moving part.
What oils /Grease do you use and for what?? ....Buck

carpetman
07-25-2005, 12:11 AM
Buck1---I use Ed's Red for cleaning and finish up with silicone spray(I use the prestone silicone---that Wal Mart carries). The Ed's red,takes 4 liquid ingredients and a dab of anhydrous lanolin. Get a qt each of ATF,turpentine(or mineral spirits)kerosene and acetone. I store it in a Coleman fuel can and fill up an empty Hoppes jar as needed. For the kerosene,you can get lamp oil--which costs more and I don't know that diesel might not work just as well.

NVcurmudgeon
07-25-2005, 12:36 AM
I use Ed's Red, Hoppe's #9, and Butch's Bore Shine for cleaning depending on the degree of fouling I anticipate, which depends on whether I have been shooting cast or jacketed bullets. I use Hoppe's Gun Oil for lubrication, mainly because I can get it in a large bottle from mail order sources. FWIW, I have seen Three in One condemned as ineffective for rust prevention or lubrication in at least one gunsmithing book.

lar45
07-25-2005, 02:01 AM
Ed's Red cleans so much better than Hoppes no.9 it's almost embarassing.

I still like Break free CLP for an oil.