PDA

View Full Version : S.e.e. Big kaboom

PULSARNC
12-19-2012, 09:40 PM
Long time reader, sometimes poster under another handle[which I cannot get to login with ] I have read with interest folks success with reduced speed loads for practice /small game shooting and decided to join the fun .I have been reloading since 1995 but casting for only about 2 years .So......I jumped right in ,a LEE 180 grain mold in 30-06 was obtained and I fired up the pot.Wheelweights with some tin sweetner and I had boolitts.Lubed with liquid alox and ran thru a Lee .309 sizer and seated the gaschecks.Brass was my own, once fired mixed headstamp full length resized and primed with CCI large rifle primers .
Much research was done as to powder choices.From articles in Handloder and Rifle I leaned towards accurate powder #5744.Checking several popular websites and my own stash of reloading manuals and western powders website sealed the deal
I settled on a ladder of 26 grains working up in 1 grain increments to 30 grains Loads were assembled one at a time on an RCBS rockchucker. Each powder charge was hand thrown and weighed .I loaded six rounds of each charge careful to keep them labeled and separated.Time to hit the range , sunny Sunday afternoon mid Sept .
Starting with the 26 grainers velocity as measured on my chronograph was mimmicing the books but lousy groups.AS I progressed up the ladder things began to look more promising .When I hit the 29 grain loads it was eureka moment ! First 3 shots clustered in about an inch,so I pulled the trigger on shot #4
KABOOM when i regained my bearings the gun was in pieces on the bench ,the scope was laying on the ground and I was bleeding in many places on m,y face in addition to have blurred vision in my right eye . A trip to the local ER and a little first aid and I was almost as good as new.So now begins the task of *** happened .