PDA

View Full Version : How do you use....

Blammer
04-26-2007, 11:14 AM
OK, I have a Lyman 450 Lube/resizer.

I have this funny looking piece that I suspect is for putting on gas checks.

My big question is.

How do you put on a gas check with the Lyman 450?

Pics help, cause I'm not too keen on all the parts of the sizer yet. As I'm somewhat new to bullet lubing/sizing deal.

I have some 7mm bullets I'm gonna want to size, lube and check, but not in that order I guess....

I do have the sizer that is the correct size that I want for my gun, and I do have the lube I'm gonna try, and the checks too.

Putting em together may be tricky....

454PB
04-26-2007, 11:36 AM
I don't have a gas check seater for my 450's. If I need more force than my fingers to seat them, I lay the flat wrench that is intended for die changing across the top of the nut that holds the die in place. I then put the GC on the boolit base and use the sizer nose punch to push it on. I then size the boolit normally, which crimps the check onto the boolit.

mooman76
04-26-2007, 11:39 AM
I haven't done it on the Lyman yet but you put the gc on the bullet and size and lube at the same time and that will crimp the check on. You will have to adjust the lube /sizer for depth so you lube what you want to lube and not lube past the lube grooves as to not waist lube and make more mess. It's not that hard and you will have to play with it abit but once you start you will see.

Blammer
04-26-2007, 12:13 PM
ahhhh, thanks!

so I will have to post a pic of this piece of equipment so you guys can tell me what it's for.... :D

scrapcan
04-26-2007, 12:28 PM
Balmmer,

If your indicated tools looks like a u-shaped collar that will fit around a rod, that is exactly what it does.