PDA

View Full Version : Castboolit Gardeners !!! any interest in a seed exchange ?

JonB_in_Glencoe
12-18-2012, 05:02 PM
Dear Castboolit gardeners,
I have a few Family heirloom seeds that are prized more than gold.
Does anyone else have similar ?
That they'd care to exchange ?

Obviously my seeds are geared for the long days and short season of Minnesota and would prefer to trade with the same, but, sometimes it's fun to experiment with something special, and you never know, a seed from Alabama, just might be productive here in MN.

I've been doing my Garden planning for 2013 along with my two organic veggie farmer friends. We all save seeds and share between us (I actually do some of the seed cleaning/saving for one of the farmers).
Anyway, I am hoping to broaden my sources, maybe you want to also ?

AND HECK, it nothing else, looking through these photos is like
taking a walk through my garden, nothing better than that
this time of year.

Here are my most prized seeds.

"Sausage" Roma type Tomato
I only plant two of these plants each year since they are so productive, this table full is from one picking of the 2 plants.
just to the right of the table, you can see the plant with
a few green tomatoes still on the vine.
http://i640.photobucket.com/albums/uu127/JonB_in_Glencoe/Sausage2011.jpg

Rutgers Tomato
I save seed from the Healthiest small size plants with smaller size friuts (6 to 8 oz). I grow quite a few of these every year for Juice as well as eating. I like that they take up a fairly small space, don't grow into each other and tip over the cage due to large size friuts or don't outgrow the cage...while the photo shows this plant is kinda out of control, it's the only good photo with fruit I could find.
They are fairly blight resistant.
http://i640.photobucket.com/albums/uu127/JonB_in_Glencoe/rutgerssmallplant.jpg

Black brandywine tomato
Very tasty and surprizingly earlier than the Rutgers.
Downside, they tend to crack badly.