PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding cast load using Missouri .38 Match Boolit

viper7342
12-12-2012, 09:58 PM
I have been reloading for several years, but this will be my first foray into the world of cast lead boolits, I am looking to load some of the aforementioned boolits, which according to the manufacturer have a BHN of 12, for a Smith & Wesson Model 60 Snubbie, for use as a practice/training round for my mother, who isn't really a gun person, but has had this weapon for several years, and as far as I know, has either not fired it much or has never fired it. Knowing these weapons as I do, it would not have been my first choice as a defensive weapon for her, but, that's what she bought it for and we gun afficianados know that it's always best to let each person choose a gun that fits them. enough about that, I'm looking for a loading using this boolit, that will produce minimal recoil and muzzle blast. and as little leading as I can possibly get, using either Alliant Unique or Win 231 Powder. My Lee manual lists the Unique starting load at 4.0 Grains and the max at 4.3 Grains, While it Lists the 231 at 4.0 and 4.5 respectively would this data be ok to use with this boolit for the above purposes? Before anyone mentions it I know to start at the minimum and work up watching for signs of excessive pressure until I find a load that is both safe and accurate. I would just like to know what those of you in the know think as far as whether I should expect leading issues with these loadings.. Also, Like I said before I'm a complete newbie as far as using cast Boolits is concerned, so any pointers anyone can share would be greatly appreciated. I appologize for the long post.

williamwaco
12-12-2012, 10:03 PM
I like 3.5 gr Bulls Eye oe AA No.2 or 4.0 grains Unique

rintinglen
12-13-2012, 04:03 AM